Jun 17, 2024  
2008-2009 Undergraduate Catalog 
2008-2009 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Political Science B.S.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs

Bachelor of Science Degree
College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Department of Political Science and International Affairs
(770) 423-6227

Political Science is the study of the formal institutions of government and the actual behavior of people in public life. It examines both the institutions and processes of government using both empirical and normative research methodologies. A degree in political science is of value to all persons who take the responsibilities and opportunities of membership in a democratic society seriously. Specifically, political science is the undergraduate major of a majority of persons who attend law school; serves as prerequisite for graduate study in a number of social science disciplines; and is an ideal liberal arts major for careers in business, journalism, public and international affairs, the federal government, state and local government, teaching, interest groups, campaign management, communications, and many others.

Political Science has four concentrations: 1) Legal Studies, 2) Government and Professional Politics, 3) Public Service and Public Policy, and 4) Global Studies. Majors are required to choose one concentration and take 12 hours from that concentration.

Supervised internships and cooperative study programs at sites in business, industry and government are available and students are strongly urged to participate.

General Education (42 Credit Hours)

see listing of requirements 

University-Wide Fitness For Living Requirement (3 Credit Hours)

Lower Division Major Requirements (Area F) (18 Credit Hours)

Choose two courses from the following:

  • Foreign Languages (2001-2002 sequence must be taken in a single foreign language) in place of Foreign Language (six hours at 2000 level)
  • MATH/CSIS (six hours of math and/or computer science and/or information systems at the 1000 or 2000 level)

Upper Division Major Requirements (15 Credit Hours)

Major Concentrations (12 Credit Hours)

(Select one concentration, take 12 hours from that concentration):

Related Studies (18 Credit Hours)

  • Eighteen hours of upper-division studies beyond the major requirements as approved by the academic advisor.

Free Electives (15 Credit Hours)

Any courses in the University curriculum.

Program Total (123 Credit Hours)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs