Jul 19, 2024  
2009-2010 Graduate Catalog 
2009-2010 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

University System of Georgia


The University System of Georgia includes 35 state-operated institutions of higher education located throughout the state—four research universities, two regional universities, 13 state universities, eight state colleges, and eight two-year colleges.

The 18-member constitutional Board of Regents governs the system, which has been in operation since 1932. Appointments for seven-year terms of five board members from the state-at-large and one board member from each of the state’s 13 congressional districts are made by the governor, subject to confirmation by the State Senate.

The chairperson, vice chairperson and other board officers are elected by members of the board. The chancellor, who is not a board member, is the board’s chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System.

Overall, programs and services of the University System are offered through three major components-instruction, public service/continuing education and research.

INSTRUCTION encompasses programs of study leading toward degrees, ranging from the two-year associate level through the doctoral level, and certificates. Each institution determines requirements for admission of students to instructional programs, pursuant to policies of the Board of Regents.

The board, which establishes minimum academic standards, leaves to each institution the prerogative of establishing higher standards. Applications for admission should be addressed in all cases to the institutions.

For students whose goal is a degree beyond the associate level, a Core Curriculum of study for the freshman and sophomore years is in effect at each institution. The Core Curriculum, which facilitates transfer of freshman and sophomore degree credits within the University System, requires 63 semester-credit-hours: 45 in general education and 18 in the student’s chosen major.

PUBLIC SERVICE/CONTINUING EDUCATION encompasses, primarily, non-degree activities, including short courses, seminars, conferences, lectures, and consultative and advisory services. Some college-degree-credit courses of special types are also offered, typically through extension center programs and teacher education consortiums.

RESEARCH encompasses on-campus and off-campus investigations conducted primarily by the universities but also in moderate scope at some of the state universities and senior colleges, for discovery and application of knowledge. Research topics cover a large variety of matters related to the educational objectives of the institutions and to general needs of society.

The policies of the Board of Regents and the administrative actions of the chancellor provide for each institution autonomy of high degree in academic and administrative matters. The executive head of each institution is the president, whose election is recommended by the chancellor and approved by the board. State applications for the University System are registered by, made to and allocated by the Board of Regents. The largest share of state appropriations (52 percent) is allocated by the Board for Instruction.

Matriculation and nonresidential tuition fees for all institutions are set by the board. All resident students pay matriculation fees; out-of-state student pay nonresident tuition in addition to matriculation. Fees for student services and activities are established by each institution, subject to the board’s approval.


Hugh A. Carter, Jr., Atlanta
  State-at-Large (2009)
William H. Cleveland, Atlanta
  State-at-Large (2009)
Robert E. Hatcher, Macon**
  State-At-Large (2013)
Felton Jenkins, Madison
  State-at-Large (2013)
Donald M. Leebern, Jr., McDonough
  State-at-Large (2012)
James A. Bishop, Brunswick
  First District (2011)
Doreen Stiles Poitevint, Bainbridge
  Second District (2011)
Allan Vigil, Morrow
  Third District (2010)
Wanda Yancey Rodwell, Stone Mountain
  Fourth District (2012)
Elridge W. McMillan, Atlanta
  Fifth District (2010)
Kessel Stelling, Jr., Alpharetta
  Sixth District (2015)
Richard L. Tucker, Lawrenceville*
  Seventh District (2012)
W. Mansfield Jennings, Jr., Hawkinsville
  Eighth District (2013)
James R. Jolly, Dalton
  Ninth District (2015)
William NeSmith, Jr., Athens
  Tenth District (2015)
Willis J. Potts, Rome
  Eleventh District (2013)
Benjamin J. Tarbutton, III, Sandersville
  Twelfth District (2013)
Kenneth R. Bernard, Jr., Douglasville
  Thirteenth District (2014)
** Vice Chairman



Degrees Awarded: A-Associate; B-Bachelor’s; J-Juris Doctor; M-Master’s; S-Specialist in Education; D-Doctor’s

Research Universities

Athens 30602
  University of Georgia, B, J, M, S, D Atlanta 30332
Atlanta 30332
  Georgia Institute of Technology, B, M, D
Atlanta 30303
  Georgia State University, A, B, J, M, S, D
Augusta 30912
  Medical College of Georgia A, B, M, D

Regional Universities

Statesboro 30406
  Georgia Southern University, B, M, S, D
Valdosta 31601
  Valdosta State University, A, B, M, S, D

State Universities

Albany 31705
  Albany State University, A,B, M
Americus 31709
  Georgia Southwestern State University, A, B, M
Augusta 30910
  Augusta State University, A, B, M, S
Carrollton 30118
  State University of West Georgia, A, B, M, S, D
Columbus 31993
  Columbus State University, A, B, M
Dahlonega 30597
  North Georgia College & State University, A, B, M
Fort Valley 31030
  Fort Valley State University, A, B, M
Kennesaw 30144
  Kennesaw State University, B, M
Marietta 30060
  Southern Polytechnic State University, A, B, M
Milledgeville 31061
  Georgia College & State University, B, M, S
Morrow 30260
  Clayton College & State University, A, B, M
Savannah 31406
  Armstrong Atlantic State University, A, B, M
Savannah 31404
  Savannah State University, A, B, M

State Colleges

Barnesville, 30204
  Gordon College, A, B
Brunswick, 31520
  College of Coastal Georgia
Cochran, 31014
  Middle Georgia College, A, B
Dalton 30120
  Dalton State College, A, B
Gainesville 30403
  Gainesville College, A, B
Lawrenceville 30043
  Georgia Gwinnett College
Macon 31297
  Macon State College, A, B
Tifton 31193
  Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, A, B

Two-Year Colleges

Albany 31707
  Darton College, A
Atlanta 30310
  Atlanta Metropolitan College, A
Bainbridge, 31117
  Bainbridge College, A
Decatur 30089-0601
  Georgia Perimeter College, A
Douglas 31533
  South Georgia College, A
Rome 30161
  Georgia Highlands College, A
Swainsboro 30401
  East Georgia College, A
Waycross 31501
  Waycross College, A

University System of Georgia
270 Washington Street, S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

University System of Georgia Map


The map below shows the location of the 35 colleges and universities of the University System of Georgia (main campus sites).