Apr 14, 2024  
Faculty Handbook 2023 - 2024 
Faculty Handbook 2023 - 2024

1.1 - Faculty Membership at Kennesaw State University

The faculty consists of the Corps of Instruction and the administrative officers. Full-time professors, associate professors, assistant professors, senior lecturers, lecturers, clinical professors, clinical associate professors, clinical assistant professors, research professors, research associate professors, research assistant professors, and teaching personnel with such other titles as may be approved by the President, shall be the Corps of Instruction. Full-time research and extension personnel and duly certified librarians will be included in the Corps of Instruction on the basis of comparable training. A faculty member who has academic rank and rights of tenure in the Corps of Instruction and who accepts an appointment to an administrative office, other than President, shall retain his/her academic rank and rights of tenure as an ex-officio member of the Corps of Instruction but shall have no rights of tenure in the administrative office. An administrative officer having faculty status shall have all the responsibilities and privileges of faculty membership except as noted below (BoR Policy Manual 3.2).

In addition to the Corps of Instruction, the faculty will include the President, administrative and academic deans, registrar, librarian, and chief fiscal officer of the institution and other full-time administrative officers as the institution may designate as having ex officio faculty status (BoR Policy Manual

The term “teaching faculty” is used at KSU in reference to those members of the Corps of Instruction who hold rank, including librarians, lecturers and senior lecturers that are non-tenure-track faculty, with renewable contracts as indicated in the BoR Policy Manual 3.2.1.

Administration refers to activities that are required to support the management of the institution. The role of administrative faculty is characterized by positions whose primary responsibility includes a) the active, continuing involvement in formulating, interpreting and implementing institutional policy; b) the exercise of substantial independence, authority and discretion in areas such as program planning, budgeting, design and allocation of resources; and c) making personnel decisions such as hiring, annual performance evaluation, and promotion and tenure reviews. Administrative faculty serve in executive leadership roles such as President; Provost; assistant/associate/vice presidents; assistant/associate/vice/senior vice provosts; deans; assistant/associate deans; department chairs/school directors; assistant/associate/directors of academic units (e.g., CETL); special assistant to President/Provost; and others per the President or the Provost. These “administrative faculty” are given faculty ranked administrator contracts.

It would be rare for a faculty member to have an assignment in one of these areas. Departmental administrators should scrutinize any effort assigned to this section for a member of the Corps of Instruction. 

Administrative faculty are not eligible to serve as teaching faculty on department, college, or University committees nor on the Faculty Senate. If serving on a committee or the Faculty Senate as a teaching faculty at the time of appointment to an administrative position, the faculty member will be replaced following procedures outlined in department, college, and/or University guidelines. Administrative faculty are not eligible to be considered for any teaching faculty awards.